The Book of Lost Tales, Part Two: J.R.R.Tolkien, First Published in 1984

The Fall of Gondolin
The Fall of Gondolin.
© Roger Garland.
Click on image to enlarge.

The Book of Lost Tales: Volume 2 contains narratives set in Beleriand during the First Age. This volume is full of mythic detail and it is a difficult read. You see a lot Christopher Tolkien's editing (by necessity) in this book rather than his father's splendid narrative. On the other hand, it is required reading for those interested in understanding Tolkien's creative process.

The Book of Lost Tales 1 & 2 are the first two volumes of the 12 volume History of Middle-earth series, and represent the first major works of fiction by J.R.R.Tolkien. They are, in essence, the first drafts of the myths and legends that he would later develop into The Silmarillion. Tolkien began writing these stories during World War I, and abandoned the work several years later. It is a collection of his earliest and unfinished writings which is edited by his son Christopher Tolkien.

Of Special Interest:

Volume 2 contains early versions of the tales of Turin and the Dragon, and the necklace of the Dwarves.

Volume 2 tells the story of The Fall of Gondolin, the fairest of all the Elven cities in Middle-earth. Gondolin was also called the Hidden Kingdom.

Volume 2 is most important to the followers of the story of Aragorn, son of Arathorn and his love for Arwen, daughter of Elrond, for it tells for the first time the Tale of Beren and Luthien.

Last edited: 19 July 2007 13:51:34